Riggs Clinicians at American Psychoanalytic Association (APsaA) 2017 National Meeting



Austen Riggs Center clinicians to attend and present at American Psychoanalytic Association (APsaA) 2017 National Meeting. From January 18 to 22, the American Psychoanalytic Association (APsaA), which is the oldest national psychoanalytic organization, will hold its 2017 National Meeting.

Once again this year, several Riggs clinicians will present, attend, and be involved in the gathering that brings together more than 2,000 mental health professionals, educators, researchers, and students to participate in enjoy psychoanalytic programming, networking, and other events. 

In addition, this year Riggs’ Associate Medical Director and Director of Biopsychosocial Advocacy Dr. Eric Plakun will be recognized with an honorary membership in the American Psychoanalytic Association. APsaA President Dr. Harriet Wolfe remarks, “As we all know, during the last 40 years, psychiatry has dramatically shifted to a predominately biologically-based treatment model, but Dr. Plakun, as a member of the American Psychiatric Association, has been and continues to be a vital voice in preserving the inclusion of psychoanalysis and psychodynamic psychotherapy treatments within American psychiatry. We are fortunate to have such a champion.”

Click on the image to the right or see below for details on Riggs’ involvement in the APsaA National Meeting this year.

Wednesday, January 18

2:00 - 4:00 p.m.
Discussion Group 20: Assessment and the Analytic Identity

Co-Chairs and Discussants: Anthony Bram, PhD, ABAP; James H. Kleiger, PsyD, ABPP, ABAP; and Jed Yalof, PsyD, ABPP, ABSNP
Presenter: Kathryn Gallagher, PhD

4:30 - 6:30 p.m.
Discussion Group 40: Treatment Resistance: Application of Psychoanalytic Ideas to Dilemmas in Treatment

Co-chairs: Eric M. Plakun, MD, and Elizabeth Weinberg, MD
Presenter: Amy Taylor, PhD

6:00 - 7:30 p.m.
President’s Reception
Eric M. Plakun, MD,
will be awarded an Honorary Membership in the American Psychoanalytic Association.

Thursday, January 19

2:00 - 4:00 p.m.
Discussion Group 68: Psychoanalysis and Psychotherapeutic Hospitals

Chair: M. Sagman Kayatekin, MD
Co-Chair: Michael Groat, PhD, MS
Presenter: Jeremy Ridenour, PsyD

Friday, January 20

11:15 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Poster Session: Research Relevant to Theory and Practice in Psychoanalysis

Chair: Andrew J. Gerber, MD, PhD
Co-Chair: Kim Hunter-Schaedle, PhD

1:30 - 2:30 p.m.
Committee Sponsored Workshop 13: Medical Student Education

Chair: Janis L. Cutler, MD
Presenters: Estelle P. Bender, MD; Andrew C. Furman, MD; Debra A. Katz, MD; and David Mintz, MD

Saturday, January 21

2:00 - 5:00 p.m.
Panel III: Disillusionment

Chair: Adele Tutter, MD, PhD
Presenters: Alfred S. Margulies, MD; Britt-Marie Schiler, PhD; Stephen Seligman, DMH; Jane G. Tillman, PhD; Lynne Zeavin, PsyD