Austen Riggs Center Clinicians at the American Psychoanalytic Association (APsaA) 2018 National Meeting



Austen Riggs Center Clinicians will be presenting at and attending the American Psychoanalytic Association (APsaA) 2018 National Meeting, Feb. 14-18 in New York City.From February 14-18, the American Psychoanalytic Association (APsaA), which is the oldest national psychoanalytic organization, will hold its 2018 National Meeting.  

As in years past, several Riggs clinicians will present, attend, and be involved in the gathering that brings together more than 1,800 mental health professionals, educators, researchers, and students to participate in and enjoy psychoanalytic programming, networking, and other events. 

Click on the image to the right or see below for details on Riggs’ involvement in the APsaA National Meeting this year.

Wednesday, February 14
2:00-4:00 p.m.
Discussion Group 17: The Dangerous Father

Chair: Phillip Blumberg, PhD
Presenters: Adrienne Harris, PhD; Eyal Rozmarin, PhD
Discussant: Jane G. Tillman, PhD

4:30-6:30 p.m.
Discussion Group 41: Treatment Resistance: Application of Psychoanalytic Ideas to Dilemmas in Treatment
Co-Chair: Eric M. Plakun, MD
Co-Chair & Discussant: Elizabeth Weinberg, MD
Presenter: Kathryn E. Gallagher, PhD

Thursday, February 15
11:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m.
Committee Sponsored Workshop 7: Medical Student Education 

Chairs: Janis L. Cutler, MD
Presenters: Estelle P. Bender, MD; Debra A. Katz, MD
Discussant: David Mintz, MD

12:00-1:30 p.m.
DPE Research Education Dialogue: Critical Thinking and Research in Psychoanalytic Education
Co-Chairs: Morris N. Eagle, PhD, ABPP; Linda S. Goodman, PhD
Presenters: Otto F. Kernberg, MD; Ellen Rees, MD
Discussant: Andrew J. Gerber, MD, PhD

Friday, February 16
11:15 a.m.-4:00 p.m.
Poster Session: Research Relevant to Theory and Practice in Psychoanalysis

Co-Chairs: Andrew J. Gerber, MD, PhD; Kathryn E. Gallagher, PhD; Katie C. Lewis, PhD

11:15 a.m.-4:00 p.m.
Assessment of Psychological Pain: A Preliminary Investigation Using the Psychic Pain Scale
Poster Presentation by: Evan Good, MS; Katie Lewis, PhDJane G. Tillman, PhD; Chris Hopwood, PhD

Donna Elmendorf, PhD; Claudia Gold, MD; and Kate Jewson, BS, will receive the Anna Freud Educational Achievement Award from APsaA on Friday afternoon.

In addition, David Mintz, MD, will be attending the Medical Student Education from 4:00-5:00 p.m.

Related Blogs

Blog Tags: