HomeEducation/TrainingErikson Institute

Council of Scholars

The Council of Scholars consists of scholars with established reputations in their fields and a focused interest or expertise in psychoanalysis. Its membership represents an ideal of the Erikson Institute: the integration of psychoanalytic thinking with other disciplines. The Council’s task is consulting to the Director of the Erikson Institute or the Medical Director/CEO with specific projects. 

Kimberlyn Leary, Ph.D., ABPP, Chair, Chief Psychologist and Director of Psychology and Psychology Training, Cambridge Health Alliance; Associate Professor of Psychology, Harvard Medical School

Anne Dailey, J.D., Evangeline Starr Professor of Law at the University of Connecticut School of Law; Research Fellow at the Western New England Institute for Psychoanalysis.

John Demos, Ph.D., Samuel Knight Professor of History, Yale University

David Edwards, PhD, is James N. Lambert ’39 Professor of Anthropology at Williams College

Kai Erikson, PhD, is the William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor Emeritus of Sociology and American Studies at Yale University.  He is the past president of the American Sociological Association, the Society for the Study of Social Problems, and the Eastern Sociological Society.

Carol Gilligan, Ph.D., University Professor at New York University, and Visiting Professor at the University of Cambridge affiliated with the Centre for Gender Studies and with Jesus College

James Gilligan, MD, is Visiting Professor of Psychiatry and Social Policy, University of Pennsylvania; Distinguished Visiting Scholar and Adjunct Professor, New York University; President, Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence; and author of numerous books and articles on violence.

Michael Ann Holly, Ph.D., Director of Research and Academic Program at the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute

Thomas A. Kohut Ph. D., the Sue and Edgar Wachenheim III Professor of History at Williams College

Robert A. Paul. Ph.D., Dean of Emory College, Faculty of Arts and Sciences, Charles Howard Chandler Professor of Anthropology and Interdisciplinary Studies

Bernard Reginster, Ph.D., Professor and Chair of Philosophy Department, Brown University

Ellen Handler Spitz, Ph.D., Honors College Professor of Visual Arts, University of Maryland (UMBC)